An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

CAPT Nicholas C. DeLeo

Commanding Officer, USS Blue Ridge (LCC 19)

09 November 2023
Captain Nicholas C. DeLeo
Captain Nicholas C. DeLeo
Captain Nicholas C. DeLeo
Captain Nicholas C. DeLeo
Captain Nicholas C. DeLeo
Photo By: CNSP
VIRIN: 231114-N-N0831-0003
Captain DeLeo is a native of Silver Spring, MD. He graduated and commissioned through the University of Virginia’s NROTC program with a Bachelor of Science degree in Systems Engineering in 1999. He holds a Master of Science Degree in Systems Technology from the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, CA through the Immediate Graduate Education Program. He is also is a graduate of the Navy Nuclear Power School.

At sea, he commanded Helicopter Maritime Strike Squadron (HSM) 74. Under his command, ‘The Swamp’ earned the 2017 Battle Efficiency Award and the Arnold J Isbell Trophy. Other sea duty assignments include Helicopter Anti-Submarine Squadron Light (HSL) 48, USS Bataan (LHD 5) and HSM-72, with deployments on USS Hayler (DD-997), USS Doyle (FFG-39), USS Mcinerney (FFG-8), USS Nicholas (FFG-47), USS Bataan (LHD-5), and USS Eisenhower (CVN-69).

Ashore, he served at HSL-40 as a Fleet Replacement Squadron Instructor Pilot and Assistant Training Officer. Additionally, he served at United States Strategic Command in the Capabilities and Resource Integration Directorate (J8) and as the Commander’s Deputy Executive Assistant.

He most recently served as the Executive Officer of USS George H.W. Bush (CVN 77) and is currently the Commanding Officer of U.S. 7th Fleet flagship USS Blue Ridge (LCC-19).

He was recognized as HSL-48’s 2004 Pilot of the Year, HSL-40’s 2007 Officer of the Year and the Naval Helicopter Association’s 2009 Shipboard Pilot of the Year. In 2012 and 2018, he was selected by his peers to receive the Navy and Marine Association Leadership Award.

His awards and decorations include the Legion of Merit, the Defense Meritorious Service Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal, the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal (3), the Joint Service Achievement Medal, the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal (3), as well as various campaign and unit awards.



Guidance-Card-Icon Dept-Exclusive-Card-Icon